top of page

Intentions and Inspirations.

Disclaimers:

  • I would like to note that I speak only on behalf of my own opinions that are based around the beliefs of Norse Paganism. These opinions and beliefs will differ from person to person based on the path and feelings they follow within their own practices.

  • I use the term Norse Paganism, but it can also be known as any of the following and more; Asatru/Heathenry/Nordic Paganism/Odinism/etc.

 

Hello, followers and friends!

Today I’ve got a post that is informative and helpful! I had a lot of worries when first planning out how I was going to start my following due to financial and locational problems, and I know a lot of others do, too. So, here we are! Let’s go!

When I was first beginning my path of Norse Paganism, I was genuinely concerned and worried about where and how I was going to get my supplies. There are little to no “magic stores”* around me, and the ones that exist are, to put it simply, over priced.

I would search the internet; lip biting, racing heart, sighing. [Thanks, anxiety.] How the hell was I supposed to start a practice and not have a damn drop of materials?

Well, I took myself to tumblr and soon forgot my worries for some time as I admired and, admittedly, envied the set ups and spreads of others. It wasn’t until I began to talk to someone that I began to worry again.

It was relayed to me that “magic stores” aren’t needed. Heck, even going to a dollar store is indeed fine.

It’s the intent that matters.

I was blown away, and [not] surprisingly, still worried..

Wouldn’t the gods and goddesses be angry if I used cheap material? Wouldn’t they be disgusted if I used something they might think is ugly, or “unrelated”? Surely I would be punished, and severely, if I dare not buy something that is “designated” to each individual god or goddess.

Pffft.

Unlike my normal nature, I decided to actually take a risk. I bought tables and a cloth from Savers*, and found an old scarf of mine for another table cloth. I went to the dollar store and bought candles, offering plates, offering cups, and lighters. I went to a cheap tobacco store and bought incense.

***I’ve spent far less time, money, and energy buying things second-hand or cheaply than I would have if I bought from stores or websites that are dedicated or “designated”.***

Now, not everyone may be as strict as me. How? Well, due to my upbringing and my [diagnosed] OCD, I fear when things are not “original” or very clearly for what my intents and purposes are. So, originally I was hoping to buy altar tables that had been from specific 'Norse pagan' based websites. I was hoping to buy candles and incense and lighters, everything, from specific “magic stores” and websites because I thought, "this is what you have to do and if you don’t it’s wrong and 'it' won’t work."

Let me tell you, friends and family and strangers, that this is wrong. My altar sessions have each been special and magical, meaningful, despite my items being cheap and second-hand. Odin has only been upset with me once, but that is for a post for the future ;)

So, my wonderful beings. Go out and buy that cute table you saw at Target or Goodwill. Lay down that money for that shot glass you feel fits your god or goddess and use it as an offering tool. I would like to add, here, that also buy/give what inspires you, the gods and goddesses are working through you! Anything goes. Don't worry if it "matches" with what other followers are doing. And if anyone tries telling you you're wrong, just laugh it off. The gods and goddesses are the ones who will tell you what they do and do not like from you. Hell, Loki loves the dinosaur fossils I’ve got placed on his altar. Odin loves the raven I drew for him. Really, there's no need to worry!

As a note, the only thing I would “recommend” doing, is cleansing whatever it is you buy. Even if it’s from a “magic store” or website. That way, all the previous energies and feelings that had been connected/surged through those items will be gone. Even then, it is up to you! There is really no right or wrong way of going about worshiping/acknowledging/interacting with the gods or goddesses. Unless, of course, you go about things in too casual of a manner when you’re new. Think of it as this; would you go up to a stranger and punch him in the arm and say, “hey mother fucker how’s it going?”? Probably not. With the gods and goddesses as strangers, absolutely not. After time, once relationships and boundaries develop, maybe you can!

I hope this has been helpful or educational for all you new and old folk! If you have any questions, concerns, or comments, please feel free to contact me on my social media accounts, or via email!

“Magic stores”*- There’s not much else of a term I can think of for this. These are the stores that usually sell “specified” candles/incense, books on all different types of magic or followings, etc.

Savers*- This is a secondhand store filled with books, clothes, furniture, knick-knacks, etc. It’s similar to a Goodwill, if you know what that is.

 

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Email: curiouspaganpaths@gmail.com

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page